Show More


McKim Observatory Open House

Everyone is welcome at McKim Observatory Open House Events!

The Clark 9.53 inch refractor will be open for viewing the planets, moon, star clusters, nebulae and galaxies.  The featured objects will depend on the date and sky conditions.  In good sky conditions we will also set up Celestron telescopes on the lawn around the observatory. 

 In the event of total cloud cover (or strong wind!) the open house will be cancelled. 

Please note that while McKim is well equipped for observing the sky, it lacks the modern convenience of a rest room.  Also note that evening weather tends to be chilly, and you will enjoy your visit to McKim more if you dress warmly.

We are happy to give special tours to groups.  To arrange a visit to McKim, call the Department of Physics and Astronomy (765-658-4654), Dr. Alex Komives (765-658-4657), Dr. Mary Kertzman (765-658-4647), or Dr. Howard Brooks (765-658-4653).

 Schedule of Open Houses:

The status of each open house will be updated by 4:00 PM Friday of that day.  Check back for the latest information regarding cancellations.

McKim Observatory
2014-15 Open House Schedule

Sat. Sept 6 – 8:30-10:00 pm;                         International Observe the Moon Night
Fri. Sept. 26 – 8:00-10:00 pm;                      Family Weekend
Fri. Oct. 10 - 8:00-10:00 pm         CANCELLED!  Clouds
Fri. Oct. 31 – 7:30-9:30 pm;                         Halloween
Fri. Nov. 7 – 7:30-9:30 pm
Fri. Nov. 21 – 7:30-9:30 pm
Fri. Dec. 5 – 7:00-9:00 pm
Fri. Jan. 16 – 7:00-9:00 pm
Fri. Jan 30 – 7:00-9:00 pm
Fri. Feb 13 – 7:00-9:00 pm
Fri. Feb 27 – 7:00-9:00 pm
Fri. March 13 – 8:00-10:00 pm
Fri. April 3 – 8:30-10:00 pm
Fri. April 17 – 8:30-10:00 pm

Directions to McKim:

The address for McKim is DePauw Avenue, Greencastle 46135. It is located just north of Franklin Avenue a couple of blocks west of Kroger.

Maps: For direction put in "DePauw Avenue, Greencastle 46135"

PDF Map to McKim Observatory