Show More

Major Fellowship and Award Recipients, 2015-2016

DePauw University is proud of our students and alumni who have won, or who were selected as an alternate or honorable mention for, a nationally competitive scholarship!

Hear from DePauw students and alumni about their experiences winning nationally competitive fellowships and awards. Check out our YouTube Channel.

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship Premiere undergraduate scholarship for students who intend to pursue a career in mathematics, the natural sciences, or engineering.

Kaitlin Berry '17, Spanish and Biochemistry

Honorable Mention

Elizabeth Aguilar '18, Biochemistry

Nathaniel Smith '17, Physics and Mathematics

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship Supports a greater diversity of the kinds of students who study abroad and the countries and regions in which they study.

Jessica Tilley '17 (Classical Civilization), Greece, spring 2016

Shajaya Martinez '17 (Sociology), Argentina, spring 2016

Penelope Ramirez '17 (Women's Studies), Brazil, spring 2016

Boren Scholarship Boren Scholarships provide funding to U.S. undergraduate students to study less commonly taught languages in world regions critical to US interests, and underrepresented in study abroad. 

Chelsea Conard '18, (Computer Science, Economics), China, Spring and Summer 2017

Fulbright U.S. Student Program Grants Flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government.

Justin Agrelo '13 (English Writing), English Teaching Assistantship, Argentina

Hattie Blair '16 (English Writing, Spanish), English Teaching Assistantship, South Korea

Xeno Carpenter-New '14 (Music-BMA),  English Teaching Assistantship, Macedonia

Maryclare Flores '15 (Interdisciplinary),  English Teaching Assistantship, Mexico

Shelby (Beasley) Guzzetta '15 (English Literature, Political Science),  English Teaching Assistantship, Poland

Madeline Hawk '16 (English Literature, Film Studies), English Teaching Assistantship, South Korea

Jacob Hebbe '16 (Religious Studies, Communication),  English Teaching Assistantship, Malaysia

Scott Lockwood '16 (Mathematics, Biology), Academic Research in Ecology, New Zealand

Devon Ross '16 (Economics, Asian Studies),  English Teaching Assistantship, Taiwan (declined award)

Josiah Rushing '14 (Music Performance), Academic Music Performance, France (recipient through graduate institution: Cincinnati Conservatory of Music)


Elizabeth Bjordal '14 (Spanish, Philosophy), English Teaching Assistantship, Ecuador

NSF Graduate Fellowship The NSF Program provides three years of support for outstanding graduate students pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees in the fields of science and engineering. 

Sydney Cason '16, Interdisciplinary: Neuroscience

Maritza Mestre '14, Sociology

Woodrow Wilson Indiana Teaching Fellowship The Woodrow Wilson Indiana Teaching Fellowship seeks to attract talented, committed individuals with backgrounds in the STEM fields—science, technology, engineering, and mathematics—into teaching in high-need Indiana secondary schools.

Madison (Gallegos) Beatty '13 (Earth Sciences)

Download a list of DePauw University Award Recipients 2008-2015