Show More

Lazar named Division III Coach of the Year; six Tigers earn individual national honors

May 13, 2004

DePauw's National Golf Coaches Association award winners included head coach Vince Lazar, Lindsay Amore, Sarah Gates, Jessica Schneider, Lisa Chambers, Deborah Garriott. (not pictured Lauren Brummett).

Green Lake, Wis. - For the second time in three years, DePauw head coach Vince Lazar was named the NCAA Division III Women's Golf Coach of the Year by the National Golf Coaches Association. The announcement came at the annual awards banquet on Wednesday, May 12.


Lazar, in his sixth season, directed the Tigers to a fourth-place finish in 2002 and a third-place showing last year and to the number-one ranking Division III throughout the 2003-04 season. He was previously selected as national coach of the year in 2002.


Six individuals earned national honors as well with senior Jessica Schneider and freshman Sarah Gates named to the NGCA All-America First Team. Schneider, the top-ranked golfer in Division III, was also a first team selection in 2003. Senior Deborah Garriott was named to the second team after earning first team honors last year and junior Lindsay Amore was an honorable mention selection after garnering second team honors last year.


Sophomores Lisa Chambers and Lauren Brummett were named to the 2003-04 All-American Scholar Team for the second straight year for maintaining at least a 3.50 cumulative grade point average.