Show More

Rinaker named co-Defensive Player of the Year; Nickols also earns a spot on first team

November 16, 2004

DSC_9580.jpgGREENCASTLE, Ind. - DePauw senior midfielder Meredith Rinaker (pictured) was named the 2004 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference co-Defensive Player of the Year in voting by the conference's 10 head coaches. The complete team is available here.


Rinaker, a 2003 all-America selection, shared the honor with Sewanee's Sarah Oxford. Trinity's Carly Shade was the Offensive Player of the Year, while Rose-Hulman's Julie Roebel was chosen as the Newcomer of the Year. Trinity's Lance Key was named the Coach of the Year in his first season.


A first team all-SCAC selection in 2003, Rinaker solidified the Tigers' defensive presence from the midfield. She also added a game-winning goal against Earlham. DePauw senior forward Kate Nickols was the top vote-getter on the first team after leading the Tigers with eight goals, seven assists and 23 points. She was a second team choice last year.


Senior midfielder Kim Schreiner and junior forward Crissy Harter earned spots on the second team. Schreiner, a third-team choice in 2001, totaled three goals and five assists this season. Harter earned second team honors a year ago and finished second on the team with 19 points on seven goals and five assists.


Sophomore center back Davis Federspiel and sophomore forward Mary Beth Robinson were chosen to the third team.


The Tigers, ranked in a tie for 18th in the final regular season poll, finished the season with a 10-4-2 overall record and a 6-1-1 mark in SCAC play.