Show More

Tigers finish fourth at SCAC Men's Golf Championships; Abrams named Golfer of the Year

April 24, 2005

April 24, 2005, Danville, Ark. - The DePauw men's golf team finished fourth at the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Championships. Josh Abrams earned medalist honors with a 143 and was named the SCAC Golfer of the Year. Trinity won the team title with a 601 followed by Rhodes at 603, Oglethorpe at 605 and DePauw with 612.

Abrams shot a tournament-low 70 in the first round and followed it up with a 73 to win by one stroke over Jerre Maynor of Sewanee who shot a 144.

Jay Burkhardt also earned all-conference honors with a 152 which tied for 10th. Sean Toddy tied for 16th with a 155, while Brian Gooch tied for 27th with a 162 and Jason Schwerdt was 33rd with a 165.