Show More

Lee Hamilton '52 Joins Bill Clinton, George H.W. Bush, Martin Scorsese and Others as 2006 AAAS Fellow

April 26, 2006

lee hamilton color.jpgApril 26, 2006, Greencastle, Ind. - Lee H. Hamilton, a 1952 graduate of DePauw University, has been elected a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS). Hamilton is being honored for his work as vice chairman of the 9/11 Commission. He represented Indiana for 34 years in the U.S. House of Representatives and was recently called upon to co-chair the new Iraq Study Group.

Others in the AAAS' 2006 Class of Fellows include Thomas Kean, who chaired the 9/11 panel; former Presidents George H.W. Bush and William Jefferson Clinton; Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts; Nobel Prize-winning biochemist and Rockefeller University President Sir Paul Nurse; and actor and director Martin Scorsese. A formal induction ceremony of the Academy's 2006 Class will be held at its headquarters in Cambridge, Massachusetts on October 7, 2006.

The AAAS describes election as "a highly competitive selection process that recognizes individuals who have made pre-eminent contributions (such as intellectual achievement, leadership and creativity) to all fields/disciplines and professions, and society at large."

Founded in 1780 by John Adams and other scholar-patriots, the AAAS has elected as Fellows and Foreign Honorary Members the finest minds and most influential scholars, scientists, artists, as well as civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders. Members include George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Albert Einstein and Winston Churchill. The current membership includes more than 170 Nobel laureates and 50 Pulitzer Prize winners.

Read more by clicking here.