Show More

Hertel named region's top defensive player; four earn all-region honors

January 22, 2007

hertelaction05.jpgJanuary 22, 2007, Greencastle, Ind. - DePauw defensive end Dustin Hertel has been selected the Don Hansen's Football Gazette Division III South Region Defensive Player of the Year while Jeremiah Marks, Kerry Pappas, Greg Sylvester and Tyler Mallory earned all-region honors.

Hertel, the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Year, set a school and SCAC single-season record with 27.5 tackles for loss and tied the conference and DePauw single-season sack record with 16. He ranked second in Division III in tackles for loss, third in sacks and fourth with 0.5 forced fumbles per game.

Marks was a first team all-region choice after earning all-SCAC first team honors for a third straight year and setting a school record with 1,117 rushing yards.

Junior left guard Kerry Pappas earned third team honors, while senior placekicker Tyler Mallory and senior free safety Greg Sylvester were honorable mention choices.