Show More

Columnist Writes of "Difficult Choice" in Selecting Inductees for Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame

April 23, 2008

East College Spring 2006.jpgApril 23, 2008, Greencastle, Ind. - "I've served on the board of directors for the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame for the past six years and it's always a difficult choice selecting each spring's new group of Hoosier journalism claim-to-fames," writes Philip Potempa in today's Times of Northwest Indiana. In his column, Potempa pays tribute to the five 2008 inductees (Mike Ahern, Jack Averitt, Dennis Cripe, Julie Inskeep and Ted Knap) and writes of the "annual trek to Greencastle and the historic East College on the DePauw campus, where the Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame has been based since 1976, the same landscape where the national Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ) was founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi."

The news item is accompanied by a photograph of 2005 Hall of Fame inductee Ken Bode, Eugene S. Pulliam Distinguished Visiting Professor of Journalism at DePauw.

Access the piece at the Times' Web site.

The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame was founded in 1966. Learn more about the Hall's 2008 induction ceremony, which took place April 12 at Walden Inn, in this previous story.