Show More

DePauw's Mortar Board Chapter Receives Silver Torch Award

July 29, 2008

Mortar Board.gifJuly 29, 2008, Greencastle, Ind. - The Mortar Board chapter at DePauw University was among the outstanding chapters to be honored for their excellence at the 2008 Mortar Board National Conference, held this past weekend in Columbus, Ohio. Mortar Board is a national honor society that recognizes college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service.

DePauw's was one of 59 outstanding chapters to receive the Silver Torch Award, presented to chapters executing timeliness and dedication while exemplifying the ideals of scholarship, leadership and service. Recipients are selected based on a review of national records, requiring that the chapter meet all of the national minimum standards and deadlines.

Chapter president Stacey Wagner, a DePauw senior, was present to accept the award.

Since its founding in 1918, Mortar Board has grown from the four founding chapters to 226 chartered collegiate Spring 2008 East College.jpgchapters with nearly a quarter of a million initiated members across the nation. The Mortar Board chapter at DePauw University was chartered in 1919 and currently has 33 members.

Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community. Some notable Mortar Board members include former President Jimmy Carter, Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice, Lance Armstrong and former Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor.

Learn more about Mortar Board at the organization's Web site.