Show More

Student Vocalists Collect 15 Awards at Regional Competition

March 12, 2009

Chorus Fall 2008.JPGMarch 12, 2009, Greencastle, Ind. — Students in the DePauw University School of Music took 15 awards, including five first-place honors, at the National Association of Teachers of Singing (NATS) regional competition. The event took place March 7 at Youngstown State University in Ohio. The event brought together vocalists from Indiana, Ohio, Michigan, and Ontario, Canada.

After competing in individual categories, all first-place winners performed in the "Concert of Promise," where all NATS teachers present voted for the "most promising" awards in each division. Senior Joe Shadday received the Jessye Norman Award for the most promising undergraduate in the third and fourth year of College.

Other DePauw winners include:

  • College Musical Theatre (category B) - 2nd Place: Matt Patterson (student of Brian Horne/Caroline Smith)
  • First Year College Women (category 2a) - 3rd Place: Lauren Palmer (student of Pamela Coburn)
  • First Year College Women (category 2b) - 2nd Place: Jennifer Wilson (student of Blythe Walker/Caroline Smith); 3rd Place: Claire Jagla (student of Blythe Walker/Caroline Smith)Tower EC Summer 2006.jpg
  • First and Second Year College Men (category 3/5) - 1st Place: Jeremy Wong (student of Kyle Ferrill)
  • Second Year College Women (category 4a) - 2nd Place: Elizabeth Orsborn (student of Blythe Walker/Caroline Smith)
  • Second Year College Women (category 4b) - 1st Place: Katherine Walker (student of Blythe Walker/Caroline Smith); 2nd Place: Andrea Spencer (student of Pamela Coburn)
  • Third Year College Women (category 8b) - 1st Place: Alaine Geeding (student of Blythe Walker/Caroline Smith); 3rd Place: Emily Rose (student of Blythe Walker/Caroline Smith)
  • Fourth Year College Women (category 10) - 1st Place: Lyndsay Moy (student of Jay White); 2nd Place: Carolyn-Anne Templeton (student of Blythe Walker/Caroline Smith)
  • Fourth Year College Men (category 11 - 4) - 1st Place: Joe Shadday (student of Brian Horne/Caroline Smith); 2nd Place: Carl Frank (student of Brian Horne/Caroline Smith)

Visit the DePauw School of Music online.