Show More

One Alumnus and Three Students Capture a Total of 7 Journalism Awards

December 8, 2009

DSC_5903.JPGDecember 8, 2009, Greencastle, Ind. — Three student journalists working for The DePauw and one alumnus were among the winners at last weekend's Hoosier State Press Association Better Newspaper Contest. The awards were presented Saturday in Indianapolis. (at left: students at work in The DePauw newsroom)

Mike Morris (pictured below), a 2007 graduate of DePauw and former editor-in-chief of The DePauw, won four awards for his work for Indiana's Jasper Herald. Morris took two first place awards for Best Business/Economic News Coverage and Best Profile Feature in the "Daily 4" division. He also won second place awards for Best Business/Economic News Coverage and Best Mike Morris 2009 sm.jpgIn-Depth Feature or Feature Package. Morris is now a stringer for the Houston Chronicle.

In the college division (Indiana Collegiate Press Association), The DePauw's Andrew Maddocks, a junior, took a first place award for News Writing. Seniors Margaret Sutherlin and Alex Turco both took second place honors; Sutherlin for Features Writing and Turco for Photography.

This year's HSPA contest was judged by the Virginia Press Association, while the college entries were judged by Florida's St. Petersburg Times.