Show More


New Book Celebrates Life and Work of "Style Icon" Mark Hampton '62

April 30, 2010

Mark Hampton Book.jpgApril 30, 2010, Greencastle, Ind. — A new book, Mark Hampton: An American Decorator, "is the first definitive look at this giant of design, captured as only his devilishly funny wife could," notes House Beautiful. Hampton, a 1962 graduate of DePauw University who the New York Times called "an icon of American Style," died in 1998.  The new book, written by his widow, Duane, is now available in bookstores.

"In the tradition of Albert Hadley and David Hicks, this is a comprehensive look at the career of the late Mark Hampton, one of the most famous and admired American interior designers of the twentieth century," notes the publisher. "A classic American success story, Hampton grew up in small-town Indiana and went on to worldwide fame. He began his career working for some of the greatest interior designers of the age: Mrs. Henry Parish II, David Hicks, and McMillen, Inc. He later went on to design for such clients as Brooke Astor, Estée Lauder, Mark Hampton.jpgJacqueline Onassis, and the Henry Kissingers, in addition to his work on the White House, Camp David, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the National Gallery of Art, and the American Academy in Rome. Known for the tremendous depth and breadth of his knowledge, Hampton refused to be pigeonholed into a trademark style, moving effortlessly from sleek modernism to English country and back again. A highly popular lecturer who drew crowds, Hampton was also the author of two books, as well as a designer of both furniture and fabrics."

According to Elle Decor, "He was one of America's great gentlemen decorators, with clients such as Pamela Harriman, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, and Estée Lauder. But Mark Hampton was no snob. He never forgot his roots as a small town boy, and he believed that good design and comfort should be accessible to anybody. Mark Hampton: An American Decorator, written by his widow, Duane, makes his ideas and principles- not to mention a survey of his dazzling rooms- available to all."

Learn more, and order the book, at Amazon.com.

Back