Show More

Junior and Incoming Student Awarded Indiana Broadcasters Association Scholarships

May 6, 2011

96038May 6, 2011, Greencastle, Ind. — DePauw University junior Katelyn "Kate" M. Hendrickson and Garth A. McMains, who plans to attend DePauw beginning in the fall, are both recipients of scholarships from the Indiana Broadcasters Association. IBA awards academic scholarships annually to deserving high school and college students pursuing an education in broadcasting.

A total of 12 students were selected from over 110 applications.

To be eligible for the scholarship, applicants:

  • Must have a minimum of a 3.0 grade point average;92810
  • Be a resident of the State of Indiana;
  • Must have actively participated in a broadcast facility and/or worked for or interned at a commercial broadcast facility, and received credit in a telecommunications, electronic media or broadcast journalism program, and the educational institution must be a member in the IBA.

Hendrickson is a double major in communication and English (literature) with a minor in Spanish. Active in WGRE, she will serve as assistant news director of DePauw's student radio station next semester. She is also a member of the Tiger softball team.

McMains, a student at South Putnam High School, served as an intern this year at WGRE and plans to enroll as a DePauw freshman in the fall.

The award for high school students is $500, while current college students receive a $2,200 scholarship from IBA.

Learn more at the organization's website.