Show More

Rardon Named Winner of Arthur Ashe Jr. Award for Leadership and Sportsmanship

May 27, 2011

91653May 27, 2011, Greencastle, Ind. — DePauw junior Michael Rardon has been selected as the Intercollegiate Tennis Association's Division III recipient of the Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award. 

A team captain as a junior, Rardon has posted a 15-17 record primarily at number one singles for the 17th-ranked Tigers and 23-5 in doubles action also primarily at the number-one flight.

The ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award recognizes outstanding individuals in all divisions at the regional and national level. In August the national winners are honored during a special ceremony hosted by the USTA during Arthur Ashe Kids' Day inside Ashe Stadium.

This award which dates back to 1982, goes to NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and JuCo men's and women's players who have exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and leadership as well as scholastic, extracurricular and tennis achievements.

Rardon is the second DePauw men's tennis student-athlete to earn the honor as Marshall Kuresman did so in 2005.

Follow DePauw Athletics on Twitter  | Become a Fan of DePauw Athletics on Facebook