Show More

Profs. David Harvey & Gloria Townsend Honored with Tucker Distinguished Career Award

May 10, 2013

East College is 1Two DePauw University faculty members -- David Harvey, vice president for academic affairs and professor of chemistry and biochemistry, and Gloria C. Townsend, Tenzer Family University Professor in Instructional Technology and professor of computer science -- are the 2013 recipients of the Mr. and Mrs. Fred C. Tucker Jr. Distinguished Career Award. Presented annually by the president of the University to one or more senior members of the faculty since 1988, the Tucker Award is designed to recognize the achievements of those faculty members who have made notable contributions to DePauw by their commitments to students, teaching excellence, their chosen disciplines, and service to the University.

At this evening's faculty recognition program, hosted by President Brian W. Casey at The Elms, Eugene Gloria, associate professor of English, was presented with this year's Edwin L. Minar Jr. Scholarship Award. Established in 1981, the Minar Award is presented in recognition of exceptional scholarly achievement by a faculty member and is named in honor of its first recipient, a former professor in the department of classical studies. A poet, Gloria was recently announced as a recipient of a 2013 Anisfield-Wolf Book Award.

Beth D. Benedix, associate professor of religious studies and coordinator of DePauw's Jewish Studies Program, was announced as the recipient of the G. Bromley Oxnam Award for Service. Named after DePauw's thirteenth president (1928-1936), the award was created in 2009 by a gift from Neal B. Abraham, who served as DePauw's executive vice president, vice president for academic affairs and professor of physics from 1998 to 2009, and his wife, Donna L. Wiley.

The program included recognition of four DePauw faculty members who are retiring at the conclusion of the current academic year: Françoise Coulont-Henderson, professor of modern languages (French), who came to DePauw in 1985;  Thomas S. Dickinson, professor of education studies since 2002; Linda L. Elman, associate professor of modern languages (Spanish), who joined the faculty in 1998; and Paul B. Watt, professor of religious studies and Asian studies since 1989.