Emison University Residences Restoration
Three historic properties will be renovated and restored along the University's new entrance at Anderson Street.
This project, made possible by a $1 million gift from Jane L. Emison, will support the creation of the Emison University Residences through the renovation of three historic properties on Anderson Street, which now serves as the entrance to the University.
The project features a full restoration of the property at 429 Anderson Street. Though now in ill repair, this Italianate home is among Putnam County’s most revered landmarks. John Ireland, part owner of a local planing mill, built the home in 1887 to showcase his craft with each room featuring trim of different woods, an element of the home that remains to this day. The University acquired this unique home after envisioning the potential of the structure and recognizing its connection to the Anderson Street entrance and the campus academic core.
Two additional homes (at 427 and 431 Anderson Street) will also be restored, though they will not require the extensive enhancements necessary at the Ireland home, which is situated between them. Project work on these homes includes both exterior renovation and interior furnishings. In total, these three restored properties will serve as official guest homes for visiting scholars and artists.
The University is working with Browning Day Mullins Dierdorf Architects for the design of these three properties. Construction efforts are underway with an anticipated completion in December 2013, with furniture and furnishings to be installed in early December, 2013.