Show More


Ethics Reading Courses at DePauw

Take a deep dive into ethics, one book at a time

Fall 2018 Reading Courses:

The Fall 2018 Prindle ¼-credit reading courses will meet for the first eight weeks of the semester. Class meeting spaces are noted below. If the class meets at the Prindle Institute, transportation will be provided each evening the class meets. The transportation will depart from the Union Building each Thursday at 6:50 pm. After the courses end at 8:30, students and faculty will be returned to the Union Building.

UNIV291A: Theodor Adorno, Can One Live After Auschwitz?
Instructor: David Alvarez (davidalvarez@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute the first eight Thursdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30pm

UNIV291B: Glenn Greenwald, No Place to Hide: Edward Snowden, the NSA, and the U.S. Surveillance State
Instructor: Caroline Good (cgood@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute the first eight Thursdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30pm

UNIV291C: Piers Ibbotson, The Illusion of Leadership
Instructor: Tim Good (tgood@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute the first eight Thursdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30pm

UNIV291D: Stuart Hall, The Fateful Triangle: Race, Ethnicity, Nation
Instructor: Leslie R. James (ljames@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute the first eight Wednesdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30pm

UNIV291E: The Bhagavad Gita
Instructor: Tamara Pollack (tpollack@depauw.edu)
Meets at the Prindle Institute the first eight Wednesdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30pm

UNIV291F: Jason De León, The Land of Open Graves: Living and Dying on the Migrant Trail
Instructor: Angela Castañeda
Meets on campus the first eight Thursdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30pm

UNIV291G: Nirmala Erevelles, Disability and difference in global contexts: Enabling a transformative body politic
Instructor: Derek Ford (derekford@depauw.edu)
Meets on campus the first eight Wednesdays of Fall 2018, 6-7:30pm

UNIV291H: Sun Tzu, The Art of War
Instructor: Sherry Mou
Meets on campus the first eight Tuesdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30pm

UNIV291I: Robert Post, Who Owns America’s Past?: The Smithsonian and the Problem of History
Instructor: Craig Hadley (craighadley@depauw.edu)
Meets in Peeler the first seven Tuesdays of Fall 2018, 7-8:30pm