Show More

Download the Poster


APRIL 5-7, 2018

The DePauw University Department of COMMUNICATION & THEATRE


DePauw University’s National Undergraduate Honors Conference is designed to encourage undergraduate scholarship and facilitate the interaction between undergraduates and major scholars in communication and theatre.


This is a working conference emphasizing a mentoring relationship with our distinguished visiting professors. Students collaborate with guest professors in small-group seminars designed to refine and extend their ideas. This is an excellent opportunity for students thinking about graduate or professional education beyond their undergraduate experience.


Housing (Thursday to Saturday), meals, and conference materials will be provided for each participant.  Cost of transportation to and from the conference must be borne by the participant.  Free transportation will be provided from the Indianapolis airport to DePauw University.  There will be a conference registration fee of $175.00 per participant.


Anne Helen Petersen

Please join us for an evening of conversation with Anne Helen Petersen from BuzzFeed News.

Anne Helen Petersen received her PhD in media studies from the University of Texas, where she studied the industrial history of the gossip industry. Today, she writes about culture, celebrity, and feminism as a senior culture writer for BuzzFeed News. Her second book, Too Fat Too Slutty Too Loud: The Rise and Reign of the Unruly Woman, has been featured in The Atlantic, NPR, Elle, Vox, and more. 

Thursday, April 5, 2018, 8:00 PM
Memorial Student Union Building, ballroom 



Andrea Kelley
Auburn University

Michael Waltman
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

E. J. Westlake
University of Michigan


We welcome undergraduate-authored papers concerning all areas of communication and theatre, including rhetoric, interpersonal, small group, organizational, media theory and criticism, theatrical theory and criticism, film studies, etc.  Limited multiple authorship is acceptable, but not class projects; we reserve the right to invite only one author from each paper.

Submit “blind” papers and cover pages as separate email attachments, both formatted in Microsoft Word. Deadline for submission is January 8, 2018.  Please include a campus address, phone number, e-mail address, and faculty sponsor on the cover page.  Authors will be notified of selection by letter and e-mail in mid-February.  Only completed research will be considered – no proposals.  Papers should not exceed 30 pages double-spaced (excluding title page, references and appendices).

Send to: 

Kent Menzel, Conference Co-Director
Communication and Theatre
DePauw University
600 South Locust
Greencastle, Indiana 46135