University Awards Convocation Spring 2021 Awardees

Due to COVID-19, awards were announced remotely

https://www.depauw.edu/academics/student-research/awardsconvo/

https://www.depauw.edu/stories/details/awards-depauw-faculty-members-demonstrateexcellence-in-teaching-scholarship/

1. Student Awards

Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship

Mandy Brookins, Associate Dean of Experiential Learning and Director of Off-Campus Programs

- Abigail Cook '22, Chile, (\$4,500)
- Eduardo Garcia '21, India (\$5,000)
- Alejandro Aquino '23, Australia (\$5,000)
- Erin Pasch '22, Ecuador (\$4500)
- Kimberly Bello-Rosas '22, Netherlands (\$5,000)
- Layla Brown-Clark '23, United Kingdom (\$5,000)
- Michael Ze-En Chen '23, United Kingdom (\$4,500)
- Mikael Polanco '23, Sweden (\$5,000)
- Riley Clark '23, Austria (\$5,000)
- William Cole '23, Japan (\$4,500)

The Critical Language Scholarship

Mandy Brookins, Associate Dean of Experiential Learning and Director of Off-Campus Programs

Collin Davidson '21, Swahili

Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship

Dr. Gloria Townsend, Professor and Chair of Computer Science

Dr. Khadija Stewart, Herrick E.H. Greenleaf Professor of Computer Science

https://goldwater.scholarsapply.org/2021-goldwater-scholars-by-legal-state-of-residence/

- Jordyn Blakey '22, Computer Science
- Alyssa Koch '22, Life Sciences

Ferid Murad Medal

https://www.depauw.edu/stories/details/truong-wins-murad-medal-bailey-awarded-walker-cup/

Winner

• Sang Truong '21

Finalists

- Amalia Crevani '21
- Sydney Majka '21
- Sang Truong '21

Walker Cup

Presenter: Alan Hill, Vice President for Student Academic Life and Dean of Students https://www.depauw.edu/stories/details/truong-wins-murad-medal-bailey-awarded-walker-cup/

Winner

• Emma A. Bailey '21

Finalists

- Emma A. Bailey '21
- Maria F. Santillan '21
- Samuel L. VanderVeen '21

2. Staff Awards

Staff Member of the Year Award

- Joseph Harris, Center for Diversity and Inclusion
- Asaundra Pickett, Associate Athletics Director for Internal Operations
- Dondra Zaring, Facility Services Provider

Administrator of the Year Award

• Sarah Ryan, Assistant Dean of Students and Director of the Women's Center

COVID-19 Leaders Award

- Julia Sutherlin Proctor, Chair of DePauw's COVID-19 Task Force
- Stevie Baker-Watson, Associate Vice President for Campus Wellness

3. Faculty Awards

Faculty Member of the Year Award

Presenter: D'Angelo McDade '22, Student Body President

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XAQyjpzFOGc

Dr. Emmitt Y. Riley, Assistant Professor of Africana Studies and Political Science

Mr. and Mrs. Fred C. Tucker Jr. Distinguished Career Award

Presenter: Dr. Lori S. White, President

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qksWkkiw_j0

• Steve Timm, MFA, Professor of Communication and Theatre

United Methodist Exemplary Teaching Award

Presenter: Dr. Bridget Gourley, Dean of Faculty and Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Fn3GQppTWU

- Samuel A. Autman, MFA, English
- Dr. Karin D. Wimbley, English

Edwin L. Minar Jr. Scholarship Award

Presenter: Dr. Bridget Gourley, Dean of Faculty and Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aycgZfld0-E

Leonard Foy, Professor of Trumpet, DePauw University School of Music

G. Bromley Oxnam Award for Service

Presenter: Dr. Dave Berque, Vice President of Academic Affairs

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=51QojbaUutl

Dr. Emmitt Y. Riley, Assistant Professor of Africana Studies and Political Science