Button Menu

Matt Kukurugya Named Phil Eskew Jr. Award Recipient

Matt Kukurugya Named Phil Eskew Jr. Award Recipient

May 16, 2013

Matt KukurugyaGreencastle, Ind. —  Matt Kukurugya (Crown Point, Ind./Crown Point), a biochemistry and political science double major on the men's swimming and diving team, has been selected as DePauw's top senior male student-athlete by the University's athletics department as he earned the Phil Eskew Jr. Award.

The Eskew Award is presented annually to a senior male student-athlete who best exemplifies effort and excellence in academics, athletics, leadership, integrity, dedication to the team, campus involvement and community service.

Kukurugya was a key component of DePauw teams that finished in the top 20 at three of the last four NCAA Division III Championships and posted a 29-2 dual meet record including 24 straight dual meet wins.

He earned all-America  honors in the 100-yard breaststroke with an eighth-place finish at the 2011 NCAA Championships and honorable mention all-America in the event in 2013 after placing ninth. Kukurugya also swam on the 200 medley relay that earned honorable mention all-America honors in 2012 and the 400 medley relay that did the same in 2013.

The school record holder in both the 100 and 200 breast, Kukurugya was also part of school-record 200 and 400 medley relays and at one time held the DePauw record in the 200 individual medley. He also notched Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference championships three times in individual events and four times as part of relays. Kukurugya earned all-North Coast Athletic Conference honors once in the 100 breast and two times each as a member of the 200 and 400 medley relays.

Matt KukurugyaA Chi Alpha Sigma National College Athlete Honor Society inductee, Kukurugya is a three-time Scholar All-America selection from the College Swimming Coaches Association of America.

He's a member of DePauw's Science Research Program and the Phi Lambda Upsilon chemistry honors society. Kukurugya is also involved in DePauw Donors which is a group committed to raising community awareness about the importance of organ donation.

Other finalists for the Eskew Award included Christopher Lamping (football), Noah Droddy (cross country/track and field), Reid Garlock (tennis).

Bridgette Shamleffer of the field hockey team and women's basketball player Kate Walker were named co-recipients of the Amy Hasbrook Award winner as the top senior female student-athlete. Complete information on that is available here.

The awards are named for former DePauw student-athletes Amy Hasbrook '00 and Phil Eskew Jr. '63. Hasbrook was a four-year letterwinner for the women's basketball team who lost her life in a fire in 2002. Eskew, the president of DePauw's "D" Association for over 20 years, was a 1994 inductee into the DePauw Athletic Hall of Fame and was instrumental in its formation in 1986.

Amy Hasbrook Award Winners   Phil Eskew Award Winners
2005 Amy Argetsinger, basketball   2005 JaMarcus Shephard, football/track and field
2006 Leslie Dillon, cross country/track and field   2006 P.J. Mitchell, baseball
2007 Liz Bondi, basketball/tennis   2007 Evan Webeler, tennis
  Sarah Gates, golf   2008 Rob Alexander, swimming and diving
2008 Katie Doogan, swimming and diving     Jeremiah Marks, football
2009 Amanda Stier, swimming and diving   2009 Michael McNelis, football
2010 Lauren Reich, cross country/track and field   2010 John Cook, swimming and diving
  Megan Soultz, softball     Spud Dick, football
2011 Courtney Lauer, track and field   2011 Jonathan Lambert, football
2012 Catie Baker, swimming and diving   2012 Kreigh Kamman, soccer
2013 Bridgette Shamleffer, field hockey   2013 Matt Kukurugya, swimming and diving
  Kate Walker, basketball