Prof. Susan Olesik '77 Honored by American Chemical Society

Prof. Susan Olesik '77 Honored by American Chemical Society

August 14, 2014

Susan V. Olesik, Dow Professor in the department of chemistry and biochemistry at Ohio State University and 1977 graduate of DePauw University, is the recipient of a 2014 American Chemical Society (ACS) National Award for Chromatography. Dr. Olesik was honored this week at the ACS national meeting in San Francisco.

Susan (Johanningsmeier) Olesik has been a faculty member at Ohio State University since 1986. She was the 2008 recipient of the American Chemical Society's Award for Encouraging Disadvantaged Students into Careers in the Chemical Sciences. In 1999, the chemist founded the Wonders of Our World (WOW) science education program.

Among Olesik's other awards: In 1987, she received the American Society for Mass Spectrometry Research Award; in 1990 she received the Eli Lilly Research Award; in 1998 she received a commendation from NASA for work on Cassini-Huygen's Probe; she was the 2000 recipient of the AWISCO Woman in Science Award; and was the Columbus Technical Council Technical Person of the Year (2005).

A chemistry major at DePauw, Olesik earned her Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.