The DePauw Collects 27 ICPA Awards, Including 'Newspaper of the Year'

The DePauw Collects 27 ICPA Awards, Including 'Newspaper of the Year'

April 18, 2012

DSC 5928The DePauw was recognized as Indiana's "Division III Newspaper of the Year" and the publication and its student journalists at DePauw University collected a total of twenty-seven awards -- including 16 first-place commendations -- at the 2012 Indiana Collegiate Press Association Awards, which took place over the weekend at the ICPA's spring convention at Ball State University in Muncie.

DePauw's student newspaper competes in the ICPA's Division III (composed of non-daily newspapers on campuses with enrollments of 3,000 or fewer students).

The winning entries included:

  • Division III Newspaper of the Year: First Place.
  • Best Single Issue: First Place.
  • Best Special Issue: First Place and Second Place.
  • Best Themed Issue: First Place - Ellen Kobe, Margaret Distler, Andrew Maddocks, Samuel Weigley, Macy Ayers, Rachel Cheeseman; Third Place - Matthew Cecil, Ellen Funke, Mary Ayres, Jayme Alton, Lizzie Hineman, Grace Kestler.
  • Best Breaking News Reporting: First Place.
  • Best In-Depth Story: First Place - Maritza Mestre.
  • Best Sports Column: First Place - Michael Appelgate.
  • Best News Feature Story: First Place - Rachel Cheeseman.
  • Best Entertainment Feature Story: First Place - Jaclyn Anglis.
  • Best Sports News Story: First Place - Michael Appelgate.East College tall xz
  • Best News or Feature Series: First Place - Matt Welch, Maritza Mestre and Kaitlin Klose.
  • Best Front Page: First Place - Bob Allen.
  • Best Sports Page: First Place - Matthew Cecil.
  • Best Special Section Front/Cover: First Place - Andrew Maddocks; Second Place - Margaret Distler.
  • Best Informational Graphics: First Place - Margaret Distler.
  • Best Illustration: First Place - Bob Allen.
  • Best Stand-Alone/Pullout Section: Second Place.
  • Best Staff Editorial: Second Place.
  • Best Overall Design: Second Place.
  • Best Editorial Cartoon: Second Place - Bob Allen and Austin Fry.
  • Best Feature Page: Second Place - Margaret Distler, Ellen Kobe.
  • Best Photo Essay: Second Place - Margaret Distler.
  • Sports Photo: Third Place - Margaret Distler.
  • News Photo: Third Place - Andrew Mattocks.

Founded in 1852 as Asbury Notes, The DePauw has a rich tradition of being the springboard for the careers of many1936 Student Newspaper of America's great journalists. Alumni of the student newspaper include "business journalist of the century" Bernard Kilgore and Kenneth C. Hogate of the Wall Street Journal; Eugene C. and Eugene S. Pulliam of the Indianapolis Star and Central Newspapers chain; Donald Maxwell, former editor of the Chicago Tribune; Robert Giles, former curator of the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University and former editor of the Detroit News; John McWethy, former ABC News Senior Pentagon Correspondent; and James B. Stewart, Pulitzer Prize-winning former front page editor of the Wall Street Journal, bestselling author and New York Times columnist. The paper is completely independent, and staffed and managed entirely by students. (at left: a student works on The DePauw in 1936)

Visit The DePauw online here.