Susan Dinkel '95 Receives Emmy Award for 'Station Excellence'

Susan Dinkel '95 Receives Emmy Award for 'Station Excellence'

August 1, 2012

Susan Dinkel, news director and 5 p.m. anchor for WTHI-TV in Terre Haute, Indiana, and 1995 graduate of DePauw University, was honored at the 48th Annual Ohio Valley Regional Emmy Awards. Dinkel was presented with the competition's highest award for "Special Achievement; Station Excellence" at the ceremony, which took place Saturday night at Belterra Casino, Resort and Spa in Switzerland County, Indiana.

WTHI was presented with a total of five regional Emmy Awards at the event. Dinkel was presented her award by veteran journalist Nick Clooney.

"I’m so proud of the entire News 10 team," says Dinkel. "We all have an investment in these awards and to receive this from our television peers is humbling."

Learn more, and access video of the awards program, at the station's website.

Susan Dinkel Jensen joined the WTHI team in 1995 after receiving her degree from DePauw, where she majored in communication. In 2008, NATAS' Ohio Valley Chapter awarded her with a regional Emmy for a series on the Indiana Air National Guard. Her work has also been recognized by the Associated Press, Society of Professional Journalists, Indiana Broadcasters Association and the Indiana State Teachers Association.

She serves on the Board of Governors for the Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences as the Indiana vice president, and is also on the board of the Indiana Associated Press.