JoAnn Ridge Meehan '49 and Judy Drompp Guild '53 Honored as Community Leaders

JoAnn Ridge Meehan '49 and Judy Drompp Guild '53 Honored as Community Leaders

June 30, 2003

June 30, 2003, Greencastle, Ind. - Two DePauw alumnae are among 10 winners of the 2003 Ernestine M. Raclin Community Leadership Award presented by 1st Source Bank in South Bend, Indiana. JoAnn "JoJo" Ridge Meehan '49 of South Bend and Judy Drompp Guild '53 of Plymouth, Indiana, were honored for “exceptional leadership to the community through volunteer service.” Nominations came from businesses and organizations in the bank's 17-county market area in northern Indiana and southern Michigan. (In the photo, Guild is on the left, and Meehan is on the right.)

Each of the winners received a $1,000 cash award, a $1,000 donation to the charity of their choice, and a Globe of Leadership from Christopher J. Murphy III, 1st Source Corporation president and chief executive officer, and his wife, Carmi, who presided at the awards luncheon.

JoAnn “JoJo” Meehan has served as president of the Junior League of South Bend, United Way chairperson, Mental Health Association Board chairperson and board member emerita of Memorial Health System. In 1987 she was the volunteer chairperson of the International Summer Special Olympics in South Bend and coordinated the efforts of hundreds of local volunteers. She has served on many area local boards of directors and two governor's task forces. Meehan is a former member of DePauw's Board of Visitors.

Judy Guild has held several local and state offices as a Plymouth Tri Kappa for the last 41 years, including a two-year term as state president. As state vice president, she established the Tri Kappa Scholarship Endowment Fund, which has awarded $171,500 to Indiana students since 1988. She has worked as a 4-H club leader and Sunday School teacher, a member of the State Board of Mental Health and as chairperson of the Lake Maxinkuckee Environmental Board of Directors. Guild also has received the Indiana governor's highest award, the Sagamore of the Wabash.