Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame to Induct Five New Members April 10th

Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame to Induct Five New Members April 10th

March 24, 2004

March 24, 2004, Greencastle, Ind. - The Indiana Journalism Hall of Fame will add five new members at induction ceremonies "April 10 at the Walden Inn on the campus of DePauw University in Greencastle, where the Hall of Fame is located," Indiana's Washington Times-Herald notes. The new inductees are: Steve Bell, former ABC News anchor/reporter who is now professor of telecommunications at Ball State University; Trevor R. Brown, professor of journalism and dean of the Indiana University School of Journalism; Henry Herr Gill, a photojournalist who worked at Chicago's Sun-Times and Daily News and led an Italian-based news service; Ed Spray, television director and president and CEO of Scripps Networks; and George P. Steward, co-founder, publisher and editor of the Indianapolis Recorder.

The Hall of Fame, created in 1966 by the Indiana professional chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ), is housed at DePauw, where the national society was founded in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi. The Hall recognizes those with significant Indiana ties who have demonstrated they are journalists of the highest distinction.

Access the Times-Herald article by clicking here. For more information about the Hall of Fame and its previous inductees, visit its Web site by clicking here.