WGRE Student Journalists Win National 'Mark of Excellence' Award

WGRE Student Journalists Win National 'Mark of Excellence' Award

September 13, 2004

pence-kern-nyc.jpgSeptember 13, 2004, Greencastle, Ind. - Four DePauw University student journalists share a national "Mark of Excellence" award for "Best Radio Sports Reporting." Brian Kern, Wesley Anderson, Brian Gustin and Theodore Tutson received the award from the Society of Professional Journalists at SPJ's National Convention over the weekend in New York City. The foursome was honored for their Monon Bell pre-game show on WGRE and bested other finalists from Syracuse University and the University of Louisiana. Kern and Nicole Pence were also national finalists for "Best Radio Daily Newscast," which was won by Emerson College. (at left: Pence and Gustin are seen with the award in NYC)

This year's winners were chosen from more than 3,200 entries in 45 categories including print, radio, television and online. The Society has honored the best work in collegiate journalism since 1972.

"The winners of this Mark of Excellence competition should be especially proud of their accomplishments," said Guy Baehr, the chairman of SPJ's Awards and Honors Committee. "This was the most competitive MOE contest in history. It attracted an all-time record number of entries. More than ever, these awards are honoring the best of the best."

The Society of Professional Journalists, which was founded at DePauw University in 1909 as Sigma Delta Chi, is dedicated to improving and protecting journalism. It is the nation's most broad-based journalism organization, encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior. SPJ promotes the free flow of information vital to a well-informed citizenry; works to inspire and educate the next generation of journalists; and protects First Amendment guarantees of freedom of speech and press.

Read the complete list of "Mark of Excellence" winners by clicking here.