Williams tops Tigers for Tampa Bay Shootout title

Williams tops Tigers for Tampa Bay Shootout title

December 30, 2004

Babson-Emory Box | DePauw-Williams Box

December 30, 2004, Tampa, Fla. - Williams College, ranked 12th in Division III, improved to 10-1 on the season and captured the first Tampa Bay Shootout title with a 78-71 win over DePauw. The Tigers dropped to 5-5 with the loss. Emory won the consolation game by an 81-75 score over Babson.

Williams built an early 18-9 lead, but the Tigers closed the gap to two with seven straight points including four from Dre Smith and a three-pointer by Reid Sakel. The teams went to the break tied at 36-36.

Austin Brown's bucket with 17:44 left in the game tied the contest at 42-42, but the Ephs rattled off five straight and never trailed again. The Tigers closed to 72-69 after Steve Schott's  basket with just over two minutes to play, but Williams scored the next five to put the game away.

Andrew Newton led Williams with 22 points, while tournament MVP Tucker Kain added 18. Jaris Cole followed with 16 and Chris Rose scored 11. Schott led the Tigers with 18 points and 10 rebounds, while Brian Oilar followed with 11 points. Williams outrebounded DePauw 37-33. Michael Graham led the Ephs with seven boards.

Joining Kain on the all-tournament team were Rose, Schott, CJ Enere of Babson and Jeff Hall of Emory.

In the consolation game, Emory placed five players in double figures led by Hall with 22 points and eight rebounds and Chase Fawset with 16 points. Rashawn Allen scored 13 followed by Spiros Ferderigos with 12 and Shawn Bailey with 11. Enere led Babson with 23 points, while Kyle McDonald added 16 and Phil Riffe had 13. Dan Elliman led the Beavers with 10 rebounds.

DePauw returns to action on Monday, January 3, when it hosts Earlham.