Argetsinger named one of 10 Jostens finalists

Argetsinger named one of 10 Jostens finalists

February 23, 2005

DSC_6051.jpgFebruary 23, 2005, Greencastle, Ind. - DePauw senior Amy Argetsinger has been selected as one of 10 women's finalists for the Jostens Award, Division III basketball's top honor.

The award honors the most outstanding men and women’s Division III basketball players of the year and takes into account basketball ability, academic prowess and community service. The trophy models the Rotary motto of “Service above Self” by recognizing those who truly fit the ideal of the well-rounded Division III student-athlete.

Argetsinger, a kinesiolgy major, became DePauw's all-time leading scorer on Sunday and currently ranks fifth in SCAC history with 1,389 points. She leads this year's team with 14.5 points per game and ranks 18th in Division III field goal shooting and 41st in free throw shooting.

The other women's finalists include: Alyssa Antolick, DeSales; Ashley Edwards, Concordia-Austin; Katie Maguire, Buena Vista; Diana Martinez, Hardin-Simmons; Amanda Nechuta, UW-Stevens Point; Tara Rohde, Trinity (Texas); Megan Vig, Carleton; Siobhan Zerilla, Wilmington; Olivia Zurek, Bates.

The award will be presented in Salem on Thursday, March 17.

Last year's awardees were Kay Mikolajczak, UW-Oshkosh, and Justin Call of Emory & Henry.