Button Menu

Seven WGRE Student Journalists Receive Statewide Awards

Seven WGRE Student Journalists Receive Statewide Awards

April 4, 2005

wgre.jpgApril 4, 2005, Greencastle, Ind. - Seven members of the student staff of DePauw University's WGRE took home two awards from the Indiana Associated Press Broadcasters Association over the weekend. The IAPBA's annual competition includes professional broadcasters from around the state. The students competed in the local (smaller) market category. The IAPBA honored the recipients at a ceremony Saturday in Indianapolis.

The WGRE winners are:

  • Best Sports Play-by-Play/Second Place: Brian Gustin and Teddy Tutson for their broadcast of the September 25, 2004 DePauw vs. Trinity football game.
  • Public Affairs Reporting/ Honorable Mention: Wes Anderson, Laura Valler, Susanne Kerekes, Megan Weinheimer and Emily Saiter for a report on false fire alarms.

The winners are also mentioned on the Indianapolis Star's Web site.pence-kern-nyc.jpg

In September, four DePauw University student journalists received a national "Mark of Excellence" award for "Best Radio Sports Reporting." Brian Kern, Wesley Anderson, Brian Gustin and Theodore Tutson received the award from the Society of Professional Journalists.  Read more in this previous story.

Listen to WGRE on 91.5 FM, or live via the Internet by clicking here.