Three DePauw women named to SCAC 15th Anniversary Team

Three DePauw women named to SCAC 15th Anniversary Team

February 9, 2006


February 9, 2006, Greencastle, Ind. - DePauw alumnae Amy Beth Allen, Julie Culbertson and Katie Reis have been selected to the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference's 15th Anniversary Women's Swimming and Diving Team.

Allen, the 2002 SCAC Co-Swimmer-of-the-Year, earned an anniversary team nod for the 100 butterfly - an event she won in 2002 and 2003. Allen won five individual conference titles in her career and was an All-American for DePauw in both 2002 and 2003.

Culbertson earned three wins in the 100 breaststroke (2000, 2001 and 2003) - the event that earned her all-anniversary recognition. With all five of her individual conference titles earned via the 100 or 200 breaststroke, Culbertson can lay claim to being the discipline's most prolific performer. And like Allen, Culbertson was an All-American in 2002 and 2003.

Reis led DePauw to its only conference title at the 2003 Championships. Reis won four consecutive titles in the 100 backstroke from 2000-2003 and she is recognized on the all-anniversary team for her performance in that event. Her six individual conference titles ranks fourth all-time in SCAC history and is best among DePauw swimmers. She is the only female swimmer in DePauw history to earn All-America honors in three different years (2001, 2002, 2003).

The Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference will be announcing 15th Anniversary teams in all 18 sports during the 2005-06 academic year. The SCAC was formed in 1991 after a reorganization of its predecessor, the College Athletic Conference (CAC). The CAC dates to 1962 with four charter members: Centre College, Southwestern @ Memphis (now Rhodes College), Sewanee-The University of the South, and Washington & Lee (Va.) University. Washington (Mo.) University joined the CAC later that same year.

The SCAC was formed to provide an association through which the member institutions may encourage organized competition in intercollegiate sports among teams representative of their respective student bodies. Members of this conference share a commitment to priority of the overall quality of academic standards and quality educational experiences.

The SCAC’s 15th Anniversary teams were selected in each sport through balloting by present coaches and administrators. Athletes who participated in conference competition between the fall of 1991 through the spring of 2004 and had been named to at least two All-SCAC teams were eligible for selection.