Button Menu

Two DePauw alumni named to SCAC 15th Anniversary team

Two DePauw alumni named to SCAC 15th Anniversary team

February 9, 2006


February 9, 2006, Greencastle, Ind. - DePauw alumni Joe Nixon and Joe Ringger have been selected to the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference's 15th Anniversary Men's Basketball Team.

Nixon finished his career with the fourth-highest point total in league history (1,546 - now good for fifth). He finished third in the league's Player-of-the-Year voting as a sophomore and second as both a junior and senior. Nixon capped his career when his Tiger team won the 2001-02 SCAC title and advanced all the way to the sectional finals (the deepest a SCAC men's team had ever advanced in the NCAA Tournament) before losing to eventual national champion Otterbein.

Ringger, the 2002-03 SCAC Player-of-the-Year, is currently sixth on the league's all-time scoring list with 1,533 points and second in rebounds with 761 (he was the league's all-time leader when he graduated). Ringger was a junior on the DePauw team that advanced to the NCAA Sectional final. He ranks in the top five in school history for points, rebounds and blocks.

The Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference will be announcing 15th Anniversary teams in all 18 sports during the 2005-06 academic year. The SCAC was formed in 1991 after a reorganization of its predecessor, the College Athletic Conference (CAC). The CAC dates to 1962 with four charter members: Centre College, Southwestern @ Memphis (now Rhodes College), Sewanee-The University of the South, and Washington & Lee (Va.) University. Washington (Mo.) University joined the CAC later that same year.

The SCAC was formed to provide an association through which the member institutions may encourage organized competition in intercollegiate sports among teams representative of their respective student bodies. Members of this conference share a commitment to priority of the overall quality of academic standards and quality educational experiences.

The SCAC’s 15th Anniversary teams were selected in each sport through balloting by present coaches and administrators. Athletes who participated in conference competition between the fall of 1991 through the spring of 2004 and had been named to at least two All-SCAC teams were eligible for selection.