Five DePauw graduates named to SCAC 15th Anniversary Team

Five DePauw graduates named to SCAC 15th Anniversary Team

April 21, 2006

April 21, 2006, Greencastle, Ind. - Five DePauw alumni have been named to the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference's 15th Anniversary Men's Track and Field Team.

Simon Flory '04, Eric Fruth '02, Shawn Odle '02, Colin Smith '01 and Graham Wellman '05 each earned spots on the team.

Flory dominated the 3,000-meter steeplechase, winning the event at four straight conference meets (2001-2004). He owns the top two times in the history of the event, including a conference meet record of 9:15.30 run at the 2002 championships at Rhodes College. An eighth-place finish at the 2004 NCAA Division III Outdoor Championships earned Flory all-America honors in the 3000-meter steeplechase.

Fruth, who was honored for his performance in the 1,500 meters, won five individual titles during his conference meet career, including three-straight 1,500 wins from 2000-2002. His time of 4:00.54 at the 2002 SCAC championships is the second-fastest 1,500-meter run in the history of the conference meet. He capped his career with all-America performances at both the 5,000 and 10,000-meter runs at the 2002 NCAA Division III Outdoor Championships with fifth-place finishes in each.

Odle posted wins in the 110-meter hurdles at four straight SCAC championships (1999-2002), including the second (14.97 - 2001) and third (15.10 - 2002) fastest times in conference meet history.

Smith earned victories in the discus for three consecutive conference meets (1999-2001) and owns three of the top four tosses in league history. A two-time all-American, Smith set the SCAC record in the discus at the 1999 championships with a throw of 168 feet, 11 inches. He also posted a win in the shot put in 2000 to give him four career conference meet individual titles.

Wellman, honored for his efforts in the 5,000 meters, won three straight individual titles in the event (2003-2005), which included a conference-meet record time of 14:52.21 at last year's championships at Rhodes. It was the first sub-15 minute time in the history of the SCAC meet. He went on to post a fifth-place finish in the 5,000 at the 2005 NCAA Division III Outdoor Championships to earn all-America honors. With victories in 2004 and 2005 in the 10,000 meters, Wellman ended his career with five conference meet titles.

The all-anniversary honors are the second this year for Flory, Fruth and Wellman who were each named to the 15th anniversary cross country team this past September.

The Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference will be announcing 15th Anniversary teams in all 18 sports during the 2005-06 academic year. The SCAC was formed in 1991 after a reorganization of its predecessor, the College Athletic Conference (CAC). The CAC dates to 1962 with four charter members: Centre College, Southwestern @ Memphis (now Rhodes College), Sewanee-The University of the South, and Washington & Lee (Va.) University. Washington (Mo.) University joined the CAC later that same year.

The SCAC was formed to provide an association through which the member institutions may encourage organized competition in intercollegiate sports among teams representative of their respective student bodies. Members of this conference share a commitment to priority of the overall quality of academic standards and quality educational experiences.

The SCAC’s 15th Anniversary teams were selected in each sport through balloting by present coaches and administrators. Athletes who participated in conference competition between the fall of 1991 through the spring of 2004 and had been named to at least two All-SCAC teams were eligible for selection.

The complete release is available here.