Button Menu

Kenrad Nelson '54 Elected President of American Epidemiological Society

Kenrad Nelson '54 Elected President of American Epidemiological Society

June 29, 2006

Kenrad Nelson 1954.jpgJune 29, 2006, Greencastle, Ind. - Kenrad E. Nelson, professor of epidemiology, international health and medicine in the Bloomberg School of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University and 1954 graduate of DePauw University, has been elected elected president of the American Epidemiological Society for 2006-07. Dr. Nelson also recently received a Recognition Medal from the U.S. Civilian Research and Development Foundation (CRDF) for his collaboration with scientists from the Republic of Georgia.

Founded in 1927, the American Epidemiological Society has counted among its members Wade H. Frost, Alexander Langmuir, Jonas Salk and Abraham Lilienfeld.

The CRDF awarded Nelson a Recognition Medal at the organization’s 10th anniversary celebration. The Foundation, a non-profit organization authorized by the U.S. Congress and established by the National Science Foundation, promotes international scientific and technical collaboration, primarily between the United States and Eurasia (former Soviet Union countries), through grants, technical resources and training.

Charles T. Owens, CRDF president and CEO, recognized Nelson as “an effective spokesperson for the power of international scientific collaboration.”

After receiving a bachelor's degree in pre-medical sciences at DePauw, Nelson earned a medical degree at Northwestern University Medical School. He has served as a faculty member at Johns Hopkins University in the School of Public Health and Medical School since 1986. Learn more by clicking here.