Button Menu

DePauw voted to repeat as SCAC champions

DePauw voted to repeat as SCAC champions

November 16, 2006

November 16, 2006, Greencastle, Ind. - Garnering nine of a possible 10 first-place votes, the Tigers were the pick to repeat as Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference women's basketball champions.

In voting by the conference's 10 sports information directors, the Tigers totaled 99 points, while Trinity was picked second with 88 points with one first-place vote.

Oglethorpe was picked third followed by Rhodes, Southwestern, Hendrix, Austin, Sewanee, Millsaps and Centre.

The Tigers return four starters including SCAC Player of the Year Liz Bondi from last year's 29-2 team that finished SCAC play with a 14-0 record prior to winning the SCAC tournament. DePauw advanced to the NCAA quarterfinals before falling to eventual national champion Hope.