President Bush Appoints Kathy Hubbard '74 to Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board

President Bush Appoints Kathy Hubbard '74 to Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board

January 10, 2007

Kathy Hubbard.jpgJanuary 10, 2007, Greencastle, Ind. - Kathryn Fortune Hubbard, a 1974 graduate of DePauw University, will be appointed to the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board. President George W. Bush today announced his intention to appoint Hubbard, who serves DePauw as a member of the Board of Trustees.

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board (FSB) was created by Congress to supervise the U.S. government's premier international educational exchange program, the Fulbright Program. The board, which is appointed by the president of the United States, consists of 12 members drawn from academic, cultural and public life. Each member serves a three-year term.

The intent of Congress in creating the board was to establish an impartial and independent body which would assure the respect and cooperation of the academic world for the educational exchange program, particularly in the selection of grantees and of educational institutions qualified to participate.

The FSB sets policies and procedures for administration of the Fulbright Program, has final responsibility for selection of all grantees, and supervisesFulbright Logo 09.jpg the conduct of the program both in the United States and abroad.

Access the announcement at the White House Web site.

Three 2006 DePauw graduates (Osamuede "Ede" Osemwota, Stuart E. Schussler and Christina E. Guzik) received Fulbright Awards to study and live abroad for a year, as did Kate E. Murray '00. The October 20 edition of the Chronicle of Higher Education listed DePauw among the "Top Producers of Fulbright Awards for U.S. Students, 2006-07." Read more in this previous story.