Button Menu

Pete Ohs '05 and Susan Dinkel '95 Nominated for Regional Emmy Awards

Pete Ohs '05 and Susan Dinkel '95 Nominated for Regional Emmy Awards

May 17, 2007

Regional Emmy Award.jpgMay 17, 2007, Greencastle, Ind. - Two graduates of DePauw University -- Pete Ohs '05 and Susan Dinkel '95 -- are nominees for Midwestern Regional Emmy Awards, which are presented by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, Ohio Valley Chapter. Ohs, who works for Blind Squirrels Production Group, is up for three Emmys. Dinkel, news anchor and assistant news direector at WTHI-TV in Terre Haute, Indiana, has been nominated for one award.

Ohs' nominations are in the categories of "Human Interest-Program," "Editor-Program" and "Advanced Media-Arts/Entertainment." The first two nominations are for a one-hour television special he worked pete ohs 2007.jpgon for the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center, titled Everyday Freedom Heroes. The Advanced Media entry is a video from Ohs' music blog. Pete Ohs was a computer science major and Information Technology Associate at DePauw.

Dinkel is nominated in the "Religion-Program" category for the documentary, Pilgrimage to Rome: The Path to Sainthood. In October 2006, Dinkel and chief photographer Mike Latta traveled to Rome, chronicling the story of Blessed Mother Theodore Guerin and her recognition as a saint by Pope Benedict XVI in a canonization mass at the Vatican. This marks the first Emmy nomination in WTHI's 53-year history.

Susan Dinkel.jpg"It's absolutely amazing," Dinkel said upon learning of the nomination. "When you stop and think about the history of WTHI-TV and all of the talented men and women who have walked these halls, it's humbling to learn we're the first to be recognized by such an distinguished organization," adds Dinkel, who majored in communication at the University.

NATAS Ohio Valley Chapter includes Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio and West Virginia. The winners will now announced Saturday, June 23, during the 43rd Annual Midwestern Regional Emmy Awards.

Access a complete list of nominees by clicking here.