Wayne Perry '72 to Receive 'Distinguished American Award'

Wayne Perry '72 to Receive 'Distinguished American Award'

February 12, 2008

Wayne Perry 2007.jpgFebruary 12, 2008, Greencastle, Ind. - "Former Hanover College head football coach Wayne Perry will receive the Distinguished American Award from the Central Indiana Chapter of the National Football Foundation," reports today's Madison Courier. The Indiana newspaper notes that Perry, a 1972 graduate of DePauw University, will be honored during a February 23 ceremony at the Indianapolis Colts complex.

"The Distinguished American Award is given to an individual who made significant contributions in his community, as well as statewide, and has touched young people in a positive way through the game of football. Past recipients include former Indiana University coach Bill Mallory and longtime DePauw University coach Nick Mourouzis," adds the item.

Perry, who became Hanover's head football coach in 1982, retired at the end of the 2007 season. He has the most wins of any coach in Indiana collegiate football history, "posting a 174-89-2 record through 26 seasons at Hanover. His teams earned eight conference championships and made nine appearances in the national playoffs," states the Courier.

Access the item at the newspaper's Web site.

Read more about Wayne Perry in this previous article.