Button Menu

DePauw Doubles Team Finishes Second to Highlight ITA Performances

DePauw Doubles Team Finishes Second to Highlight ITA Performances

September 27, 2009


DePauwITADoubles.jpgSeptember 27, 2009, St. Louis, Mo. — The doubles team of Scott Sandager and Will Gates (pictured left with head coach Scott Riggle) finished second at the Intercollegiate Tennis Association Regional Championships hosted by Washington-St. Louis University and capped off a strong showing by the Tigers.

In singles play, Michael Rardon advanced to the quarterfinals with four wins, while Gates, Sandager, Eric Hubbard and Andrew Kahn each won three matches before bowing out in the round of 16.

In addition to the second-place doubles finish, Kahn and Rardon made it to the round of 16 before losing.


DePauw's Performances


Round of 128
Will Gates (DePauw) def. Cameron Chiang (Washington-St. Louis) 7-5, 6-0
Scott Sandager (DePauw) def. Tom Cawood (Denison) 6-4, 6-1
John Smetona (Case Western) def. Evan Hunter (DePauw) 7-5, 6-2
Eric Hubbard (DePauw) def. Cyrus Jadun (Kalamazoo) 2-6, 6-1, 6-3
Noah Swiler (DePauw) def. David Devaney (Elmhurst) 6-1, 6-1
Andrew Kahn (DePauw) def. Pat Boyd (Kalamazoo) 6-0, 6-2
Michael Rardon (DePauw) def. Tyler Lampe (Monmouth) 6-0, 6-0
Ryan Dodd (DePauw) def. Jon Lautz (Hope) 6-2, 6-2
Jonathan Batuello (DePauw) def. Adam Sendor (Kenyon) 4-6, 6-1, 6-1
Will Zhang (Chicago) def. Steven Pjevach (DePauw) 6-2, 6-2

Round of 64
Will Gates (DePauw) def. Harrison Abrams (Chicago) 6-1, 6-1
Scott Sandager (DePauw) def. Tony Stephenson (Westminster) 6-1, 6-1
Eric Hubbard (DePauw) def. Kyle Gerber (Case Western) 6-2, 6-4
Noah Swiler (DePauw) def. Taylor Johnson (Wheaton) 6-4, 6-2
Andrew Kahn (DePauw) def. Jared Connolly (Denison) 6-2, 7-5
Michael Rardon (DePauw) def. Joel Parrish (Wheaton) 6-2, 6-0
Jeremy Polster (Kenyon) def. Ryan Dodd (DePauw) 6-2, 6-2
Nate Hobrath (Denison) def. Jonathan Batuello (DePauw) 7-6, 6-1

Round of 32
Will Gates (DePauw) def. Troy Brinker (Chicago) 6-3, 6-7, 6-1
Scott Sandager (DePauw) def. John Smetona (Case Western) 6-2, 2-6, 6-2
Eric Hubbard (DePauw) def. Tyler Cempre (Denison) 7-6, 4-6, 7-5
Gary Parizher (Washington) def. Noah Swiler (DePauw) 6-3, 6-3
Andrew Kahn (DePauw) def. Lado Bakutashwili (Chicago) 7-6, 6-0
Michael Rardon (DePauw) def. Brian Piatowksi (Illinois Wesleyan) 6-0, 0-6, 6-4

Round of 16
John Watts (Washington) def. Will Gates (DePauw) 6-3, 6-2
Sam Sweeney (North Central) def. Scott Sandager (DePauw) 6-1, 6-0
Adam Putterman (Washington) def. Eric Hubbard (DePauw) 6-4, 6-3
Michael Rardon (DePauw) def. Andrew Kahn (DePauw) 6-4, 6-2

Thomas Piskacek (Kenyon) def. Michael Rardon (DePauw) 6-3, 6-3

Consolation First Round
Evan Hunter (DePauw) d. Nick Cantor (Lake Forest) 6-0, 6-0
Steven Pjevach (DePauw) def. Ian Wolf (Greenville) 7-5, 6-1

Consolation Third Round
Evan Hunter (DePauw) d. Tom Cawood (Denison) 6-2, 5-7, 1-0 (10-8)
Nick Kenaga (Illinois Wesleyan) d. Steven Pjevach (DePauw) 6-4, 4-6, 1-0 (10-6)

Consolation Fourth Round
Evan Hunter (DePauw) def. Preston Phillips (Calvin) 6-1, 6-0

Consolation Quarterfinals
Cameron Chiang (Washington-St. Louis) def. Evan Hunter (DePauw) 6-4, 6-0


Round of 64
Andrew Kahn/Michael Rardon (DePauw) def. Tyler Lange/Chris Utterback (Monmouth) 8-2
Austin Griffin/Kevin Ye (Kenyon) def. Ryan Dodd/Garrett Nickell (DePauw)  8-3
Richard Brunsting/John Smetonia (Case Western) def. Steven Pjevach/Noah Swiler (DePauw) 8-5
Jonathan Batuello/Evan Hunter (DePauw) def. Chris Bennorth/Eric Mutka (North Central) 8-4
Will Gates/Scott Sandager (DePauw) def. Jared Goldstein/Jake Mathews (Kenyon) 8-5

Round of 32
Andrew Kahn/Michael Rardon def. Cameron Chiang/Seth Sankary (Washington) 8-6
Tyler Cempre/Nate Hobrath (Denison) def. Jonathan Batuello/Evan Hunter (DePauw) 8-4
Will Gates/Scott Sandager (DePauw) def. Mark Denenfeld/Steve Hanselman (Kalamazoo) 9-8

Round of 16
Isaac Stein/Max Woods (Washington) def. Andrew Kahn/Michael Rardon (DePauw) 9-7
Will Gates/Scott Sandager (DePauw) def. Bobby Cawood/John Gardner (Hope) w/o

Will Gates/Scott Sandager (DePauw) def. Nate Eddy/Joe Unger (Kalamazoo) 9-7

Will Gates/Scott Sandager (DePauw) def. Tyler Cempre/Nate Hobrath (Denison) 8-6

Isaac Stein/Max Woods (Washington) def. Will Gates-Scott Sandager (DePauw) 6-1, 7-5

Consolation First Round
Ryan Dodd/Garrett Nickell (DePauw) def. David Devaney-Dave Douglass (Elmhurst) 8-2
Steven Pjevach/Noah Swiler (DePauw) def. Michael Christison/Nick Kenaga (Illinois Wesleyan) 8-5

Consolation Third Round
Ryan Dodd/Garrett Nickell (DePauw) def. Miles Greenwald/Taylor Johnson (Wheaton) w/o
Steven Pjevach/Noah Swiler (DePauw) def. Kyle Gerber/Alex Solove (Case Western) 8-6

Consolation Quarterfinals
Ryan Dodd/Garrett Nickell (DePauw) def. Chris Atallah/Chris Brown (Albion) 8-3
Brian Haywood-Corey Yealy (Washington) def. Steven Pjevach/Noah Swiler (DePauw) 8-6

Consolation Semifinals
Bryan Haywood-Corey Yealy (Washington) def. Dodd/Nickell (DePauw) 8-6

Open Singles

Round of 64
Reid Garlock (DePauw) def. Jack Adam (Denison) 6-2, 6-0

Round of 32
David Moss (DePauw) def. Tucker Blake (Albion) 6-1, 6-1
Reid Garlock (DePauw) def. Evan Bayless (Wabash) 6-0, 6-0

Second Round
David Moss (DePauw) def. Seth Sankary (Washington) 6-2, 6-3
Reid Garlock (DePauw) def. Michael Christison (Illinois Wesleyan) 6-2, 6-1

David Moss (DePauw) def. David Stephens (Wheaton) 6-2, 3-1 ret
Reid Garlock (DePauw) def. Jeff Carter (Ohio Northern) 6-2, 6-3

David Moss (DePauw) def. Angus Walker (Kenyon) 6-1, 7-6
Zach Samoff (Washington) def. Reid Garlock (DePauw) 6-4, 6-1

Zach Samoff (Washington) def. David Moss (DePauw) 7-6, 6-1


Open Doubles

Round of 16
Eric Hubbard/AnilPatel (DePauw) def. Jon Goorhouse/Philip Reinken (Calvin) 8-5

Eric Hubbard/Anil Patel (DePauw) def. Brad Boelkins/Jon Lautz (Hope) w/o

Eric Hubbard/Anil Patel (DePauw) def. Bobby Fisher/Stuart Zom 8-1

Zach Samhoff/David Zhu (Washington)def. Eric Hubbard/Anil Patel (DePauw) 9-8