WGRE Staffers Collect 7 Awards from Associated Press

WGRE Staffers Collect 7 Awards from Associated Press

April 13, 2010

Associated Press Logo.gifApril 13, 2010, Greencastle, Ind. — Students who work for DePauw University's WGRE picked up seven awards -- two of them for first place -- from the Indiana Associated Press Broadcasters Association. The AP presented its annual radio and television awards at a banquet in Indianapolis Tuesday.

The awards honor work which aired in 2009.  A total of eighteen DePauw student broadcasters were recognized.

  • Best sports play-by-play, local radio: First place - Ryan Myrehn, Tyler Archer; Second place - John Herrick, Scott White, Tyler Archer; Honorable Mention - Scott White, Tyler Archer.
  • Best public affairs program, local radio: First place - 2010 AP Award WGRE.jpgBeau Sorg, Leslie Gaber, Amy Barry, Naiquan Greene and Rhonesha Byng; Second place - Tyler Archer, Meghan Kazer, Maria Kikvidze, Julie Southworth, David Terry.
  • Best newscast, short form - local Radio: Second place - John Herrick.
  • Best feature, local radio: Honorable Mention: Lewis Brown, Emily Jung, Chris White, Daryl Mowrey, Michael Shropshire. (at right: Archer, Herrick and Greene with their awards)

One of America's first non-commercial, educational stations, WGRE signed on the air on April 28, 1949 and today broadcasts 24 hours a day when school is in session. 

To listen to WGRE live online, click here or visit the station's Web site.