Button Menu

Three Faculty Members Honored with 2010 Tucker Award

Three Faculty Members Honored with 2010 Tucker Award

May 13, 2010

East College Dusk Oct 2008.jpgMay 13, 2010, Greencastle, Ind. — Three DePauw University faculty members -- Mary P. Dixon, professor and chair of economics and management; Carl A. Huffman, Robert Stockwell Professor of Greek Languages and Literature and professor of classical studies; and Paul B. Watt, Walter E. Bundy Professor of Religious Studies and professor of Asian studies and chair of the religious studies department -- are this year's recipients of the Mr. and Mrs. Fred C. Tucker Jr. Distinguished Career Award. Presented annually by the president of the University to one or more senior members of the faculty since 1988, the Tucker Award is designed to recognize the achievements of those faculty members who have made notable contributions to DePauw by their commitments to students, teaching excellence, their chosen disciplines, and service to the University.

Two other faculty members -- Tamara M. Beauboeuf, associate professor of education studies and sociology and chair of the education studies department; and Wade N. Hazel,Winona H. Welch Professor of Biology -- are the 2010 winners of the Edwin L. Minar Jr. Scholarship Award. Established in 1981, the Minar Award is presented in recognition of exceptional DePauw Seal.jpgscholarly achievement and is named in honor of its first recipient, a former professor in the department of classical studies.

Marcia A. McKelligan, Blair Anderson and Martha Caroline Rieth Professor of Applied Ethics and professor of philosophy, has been honored with the G. Bromley Oxnam Award for Service. Named after DePauw's thirteenth president (1928-1936), the award was created last year by a gift from Neal B. Abraham, former executive vice president and vice president for academic affairs at DePauw.