Senior Takes Third in Thomas R. Keating Feature Writing Contest

Senior Takes Third in Thomas R. Keating Feature Writing Contest

November 14, 2010

88196November 14, 2010, Greencastle, Ind. — DePauw University senior Christine E. DiGangi earned third place yesterday in the 24th annual Thomas R. Keating Feature Writing Contest. "The 2010 foundation-sponsored Keating competition featured 12 finalists representing Indiana's best college journalism students," reports the Indianapolis Star

DiGangi, editor-in-chief of The DePauw, received $750 for her award.  Andrew Maddocks, managing editor of the DePauw student newspaper, was also a finalist in the Keating competition. Both are Media Fellows.

All finalists were dropped off at a live news event and expected to write a story to be submitted by the end of the day.  A panel of judges picked the top three entries. (at right: Maddocks and DiGangi with Samuel Autman, assistant professor 88197of English and faculty adviser to The DePauw)

"A record 69 Indiana students applied for (the) scholarship competition," notes the Star. "Winners received their awards at the Indianapolis Press Club Foundation's annual dinner at Downtown's Skyline Club. The writing contest is named in honor of Tom Keating, a popular former Indianapolis Star columnist and Lilly Endowment executive who died in 1985 at the age of 45. The Bands of America Grand National Championships at Lucas Oil Stadium was the site and subject matter for the writing challenge."

Learn more at