Button Menu

WGRE Student Broadcasters Collect 5 Awards in AP Competition

WGRE Student Broadcasters Collect 5 Awards in AP Competition

April 17, 2011

94742April 17, 2011, Greencastle, Ind. — DePauw University's student operated radio station, WGRE, collected five honors -- three for first place -- at the Indiana Associated Press Broadcasters award ceremony, which took place last night in Indianapolis.  The contest honors work which was produced and aired in 2010.

WGRE competes in the local radio category, which includes markets such as Muncie and Kokomo but not the state's largest markets (Indianapolis, South Bend and Fort Wayne). There is no college or non-commercial category in the AP competition, so WGRE's entries vie for the same awards which commercial outlets do.

The station's winning entries are:

  • Best continuous coverage of a single event - Local Radio; First Place: WGRE staff.
  • Best public affairs program - Local Radio; First 89248Place: Caroline Torie, Ellen Funke, Kylee Lehrman, Lauren Palmer; Second Place: Stacey Way, Nana Aduba-Amoah, Margot Mitchell, Kathleen Molloy, Kate Walker.
  • Best sports play-by-play - Local Radio; First Place: Scott White, Ryan Foutty; Second Place: Ryan Foutty, John Herrick. (top photo, l-r: Foutty and White with their award)

Access a complete list of winners by clicking here.

One of America's first non-commercial, educational stations, WGRE signed on the air on April 28, 1949 and today broadcasts 24 hours a day when school is in session.  Jeff McCall, professor of communication and 1976 graduate of DePauw, is the station's faculty adviser.

To listen to WGRE live online, click here or visit the station's Web site.