Six Scholar-Athletes Named to National Football Foundation's Hampshire Honor Society

Six Scholar-Athletes Named to National Football Foundation's Hampshire Honor Society

May 4, 2011

87213May 4, 2011, Greencastle, Ind. — Six senior players on the DePauw University football team were named today to the the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame's 2011 NFF Hampshire Honor Society.  The Society is composed of college football players from all divisions of play who each maintained a 3.2 grade point average or better. A total of 671 players from 241 schools qualified for membership in the society's fifth year.

The Tiger honorees are: Mark Branigan, Tyler Doane, Michael Engle, Adam Hawkins, Derrick Karazsia and Jonathan Lambert.

Only Brown University and Minnesota's Saint John's University (12 each); Iowa's Central College and the University of Dayton (11 each); Amherst College and Wartburg College (10 each); Harvard University, Washington University in St. Louis and South Dakota State 87221University (9 each); Columbia University, Pomona-Pitzer Colleges and Gustavus Adolphus College (8 each); and Yale University, Johns Hopkins University, Nebraska Wesleyan University, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, the University of Rochester (New York), the University of St. Thomas (Minnesota) and Pennsylvania's Lebanon Valley College (7 each) had more players named to the Society.

Brigham Young University, Bentley University (Massachusetts) Bethel University (Minnesota), Bucknell University, Indiana University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Iowa's Morningside College, Ohio State University, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, Saint Xavier University (Illinois), the University of Pennsylvania and Washington and Jefferson College (Pennsylvania) also had six players selected.

Qualifications for membership in the NFF Hampshire Honor Society include:

  • Being a starter or a significant substitute in one's last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III, or an NAIA college or university;
  • Achieving a 3.2 cumulative grade point average throughout entire course of undergraduate study; and
  • Meeting all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.

5099Access the complete list here.

Led by head coach Robby Long, DePauw finished the 2010 season with a 9-2 record after opening with a school-record nine straight wins to start the season. The Tigers captured their fourth Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference title including their second straight and the program's only outright title. They also earned their second consecutive trip to the NCAA Division III playoffs.

You'll find much more information at the official online home of the DePauw football team.