Tucker, Minar and Oxnam Awards Recognize Contributions of Outstanding Faculty Members

Tucker, Minar and Oxnam Awards Recognize Contributions of Outstanding Faculty Members

May 13, 2011

3485May 13, 2011, Greencastle, Ind. — Marcia A. McKelligan, Blair Anderson and Martha Caroline Rieth Professor of Applied Ethics and professor of philosophy, is this year's recipient of the Mr. and Mrs. Fred C. Tucker Jr. Distinguished Career Award. Presented annually by the president of the University to one or more senior members of the faculty since 1988, the Tucker Award is designed to recognize the achievements of those faculty members who have made notable contributions to DePauw by their commitments to students, teaching excellence, their chosen disciplines, and service to the University.

Also at a faculty recognition dinner this evening, Nancy J. Davis, Lester Martin Jones Professor of Sociology and professor of sociology, was announced as the 2011 winner of the Edwin L. Minar Jr. Scholarship Award. Established in 1981, the Minar Award is presented in recognition of exceptional scholarly achievement and is named in honor of its first recipient, a former professor in the department of classical studies.

Douglas E. Harms, Herrick E.H. Greenleaf Professor of Computer Science and 5793professor of computer science, was presented the G. Bromley Oxnam Award for Service. Named after DePauw's thirteenth president (1928-1936), the award was created in 2009 by a gift from Neal B. Abraham, who served as DePauw's executive vice president, vice president for academic affairs and professor of physics from 1998 to 2009, and his wife, Donna L. Wiley.

Founded in 1837, DePauw is a private, selective, coeducational, residential, undergraduate College of Liberal Arts and School of Music with an enrollment of 2,396.