Button Menu

Brad Stevens '99 Receives 'Spirit of the Monon Bell' Award

Brad Stevens '99 Receives 'Spirit of the Monon Bell' Award

November 10, 2011

101674November 10, 2011, Greencastle, Ind. — Brad Stevens, head men's basketball coach at Butler University and 1999 graduate of DePauw University, is the recipient of the 2011 Spirit of the Monon Bell Award. Stevens was honored tonight at a gathering of Wabash and DePauw alumni at the Murat Shrine in downtown Indianapolis. DePauw, in turn, presented its "Spirit" award to Tom Bambrey, Wabash's longtime dean of students and athletic director, a 1968 graduate of the college.

Stevens, who is preparing for his team's season opener this weekend, was unable to attend the event but sent a video message in which he discussed the impact his DePauw experience has had on his life as well as the richness of the DePauw-Wabash rivalry.  Stevens, a four-year letterman in basketball, recalled with a smile that his record on the basketball court against the Little Giants was a frustrating 1-5.

Stevens, who was an economics major and Management Fellow at DePauw, was named Butler's head coach on April 5, 2007. He's compiled a 117-25 record over four seasons, which represents the best start to a career in terms of wins in the history of NCAA Division I.

Past DePauw winners of the Spirit of the Monon Bell award are:

  • 1982 - F.C. Tucker71715
  • 1984 - Andrew Paine
  • 1986 - Richard Warne
  • 1988 - William F. Welch
  • 1990 - Tommy Mont
  • 2001 - T. M. Englehart
  • 2002 - Michael Smith
  • 2003 - David Becker
  • 2004-  Stephen Williams
  • 2005 - Philip Eskew
  • 2006 - Max Hittle
  • 2007 - Thomas Yeo
  • 2008 - Mark Dinwiddie
  • 2009 - Ken Owen
  • 2010 - Nick Mourouzis

In a new tradition this year, alumni made donations to honor each Spirit of the Monon Bell Award winner. Stevens selected Gleaners Food Bank, which serves the needy in Indianapolis, as his charity, while Bambrey designated that funds go to the Montgomery County Free Clinic.

Bambrey's award was presented by Page Cotton, DePauw's athletic director for the past 15 years. DePauw President Brian W. Casey and Wabash President Pat White both addressed the gathering, which attracted about 300 graduates of both schools.

Kickoff of the 118th Monon Bell Classic will take place Saturday at 1:07 p.m. at DePauw's Blackstock Stadium.  Learn more here.