Tiger Women Win Sixth Straight DePauw Invitational

Tiger Women Win Sixth Straight DePauw Invitational

December 3, 2011


December 3, 2011, Greencastle, Ind. — DePauw totaled 993 points and captured its sixth straight DePauw Invitational title and ninth in the 25 year history of the meet.

Wittenberg was second with 776.5 points followed by Illinois Wesleyan with 459.5, Transylvania (345), Rhodes (290), Millikin (249), Rose-Hulman (178) and Franklin (142).

Wittenberg's 200-yard freestyle relay of Logan Griffith, Sinjin McNicholl, Jane Tsivitse and Ward McNulty opened the meet on Friday with a win in 1:38.48.

Tsivitse came back in the evening to win the 200 individual medley in 2:12.16 before DePauw's Emily Weber took first in the 500 free in 5:12.65.

DePauw's Catie Baker posted an NCAA "B" cut time after winning the 100 breaststroke in 1:05.74, while Transylvania's Chelsea Diamond finished first in the 200 backstroke in 2:09.67. Tsivitse then won the 100 free in 54.47 before Millikin's Kaley Wittrock captured the 200 butterfly in 2:09.59.

DePauw's 800 free relay of Rachel Wheaton, Katie Morrison, Baker and Nicole Rossillo won in 7:58.53 before Wittenberg's 400 medley relay of Sarah Wilson, Molly Gustafson, Keaton Hannon and Tsivitse wrapped up the evening with a win in 3:58.87.

Wittenberg's 200 medley relay of Wilson, Gustafson, Hannon and McNulty started today with a win in 1:49.17. Weber collected her second win of the meet after finishing the 1,650 free in 17:56.17. 

Transylvania's Amanda Skinner opened the evening session with a win in the 400 IM in a pool and meet record and NCAA "B" time of 4:34.50 before McNulty took first in the 50 free in 24.64 seconds and Wilson won the 100 back in 59.02 seconds.

Illinois Wesleyan's Angela Lugg won the 200 free in 1:57.79 before Baker notched a "B" time of 2:19.76 in the 200 breast. Hannon won the 100 fly in 58.81 seconds and the Tigers' 400 free relay of Wheaton, Courtney Lehmann, Weber and Rossillo won in 3:39.06.