#11 Tiger Men Win Third Straight Invitational and Set Records for Points and Winning Margin

#11 Tiger Men Win Third Straight Invitational and Set Records for Points and Winning Margin

December 3, 2011


December 3, 2011, Greencastle, Ind. — DePauw, ranked 11th in Division III, totaled a meet record 1,146 points and won the DePauw Invitational for the third straight year and seventh time in the last eight years. Wittenberg was second with 532 points making the 614-point margin the largest in the 25-year history of the Invitational.

Rose-Hulman was third with 494 points followed by Illinois Wesleyan with 368, Transylvania with 345, Rhodes with 266 and Franklin with 221.

DePauw's 200-yard freestyle relay of Alex Alfonso, Joe Hessburg, Jack Burgeson and John Montgomery opened the meet with a win in 1:23.78, while the Tigers' Matt Gleason took first in the 200 individual medley in 1:59.07.

The Tigers took the top four spots in the 500 free led by Robby Spichiger's first in 4:54.93. Transylvania's Yuman Yang took the 100 breaststroke in 58.04 seconds before Illinois Wesleyan's Mikey Firth won the 200 backstroke in 1:54.58.

Alfonso followed with a win in the 100 free in 47.36 seconds as DePauw claimed six of the top eight spots. Gleason's second win of Friday night came in the 200 butterfly in an NCAA "B" cut time of 1:52.46 and DePauw's 800 free relay of Casey Hooker, Montgomery, Matt Haeske and Spichiger finished in an NCAA "B" time as well as a meet and pool record of 6:51.60.

The Tigers' 400 medley relay of Morrison, Bautista, Hooker and Hessburg rounded out the opening night in a winning time of 3:30.35.

In today's session, DePauw's 200 medley relay of Morrison, Matt Kukurugya, Gleason and Montgomery won in 1:36.03 before Hooker made a "B" cut, broke his own school record and set new meet and pool records after winning the 1,650 free in 16:00.87. DePauw claimed four of the top five spots in the event.

Wittenberg's A.J. Burt won the 400 IM in 4:12.76 with Montgomery taking first in the 50 free in 20.98 seconds as six DePauw swimmers finished in the top eight.

Firth collected his second win of the meet after topping the 100 back field in 52.16 seconds and Haeske won the 200 free in 1:43.22 with DePauw finishing in the top three spots.

DePauw's Jordan Bautista won the 200 breast in 2:08.81 and Rhodes' Erik Campbell finished first in the 100 fly in 51.96 seconds. The Tigers' 400 free relay of Hooker, Montgomery, Alfonso and Andrew Nash wrapped up the meet with a win in 3:06.66.