Tigers Finish with NCAC Weekend Split after Loss at Hiram

Tigers Finish with NCAC Weekend Split after Loss at Hiram

January 7, 2012


Hiram, Ohio - Hiram outscored DePauw, 13-2, over a four-minute stretch of the second half to extend a four-point lead to 15 on the way to a 67-51 North Coast Athletic Conference win over the Tigers.

DePauw dropped to 8-5 overall and 2-2 in the conference, while the Terriers improved to 9-4 overall and 2-2 in the conference.

Hiram took an early 18-10 lead before DePauw put together an 8-2 run to close the gap to 20-18 with 11:23 left in the half. The Terriers scored the next six to start a 14-3 stretch and held a 38-26 halftime advantage.

After Hiram again pushed the margin back to 13 in the opening minute of the second half, Michael Wilkison and Camron Burns hit back-to-back jumpers before Sean Haseley hit a three and Barry Flynn made a free throw to trim the lead to 41-36.

The Tigers got as close as four after Pat Haggin's bucket with 9:39 remaining made it 47-43. Hiram extended the lead back to double digits with six straight. Wilkison stopped the run with a basket, but the hosts scored seven consecutive to take a 60-45 lead with 4:06 left. During that stretch, DePauw was just 1-of-6 from the field with three turnovers, while Hiram was 4-of-5 from the floor and hit all four free throw attempts.

Flynn was DePauw's lone double-figure scorer with 11 and led the Tigers with eight rebounds. Burns dished out a team-high four assists in the loss.

Jamaal Watkins led Hiram with 27 points, while Aaron Stefanov and Andrew Wiegand each added 13. Wiegand grabbed eight rebounds with Watkins and Justin Wisniewski each handing out four assists.

Hiram shot 48.1 percent from the floor to DePauw's 40 percent. For the second straight game the Tigers were held to a season-low five three-pointers and today were just 5-of-24 from beyond the arc.

DePauw returns to action on Wednesday, January 11, when it travels to Wabash for a 7:30 p.m. meeting. The game marks the first conference contest between the two since 1998 when both were members of the Indiana Collegiate Athletic Conference.