Kreigh Kamman Named Phil Eskew Award Winner

Kreigh Kamman Named Phil Eskew Award Winner

May 4, 2012

DSC 3490Greencastle, Ind. —  Kreigh Kamman (South Bend, Ind./Clay), a biochemistry and French double major on the men's soccer team, has been selected as DePauw's top senior male student-athlete by the University's athletics department as he earned the Phil Eskew Jr. Award.

The award will be presented at tomorrow evening's Celebration of DePauw Athletics in the DePauw Student Social Center at The Inn at DePauw.

The Eskew Award is presented annually to a senior male student-athlete who best exemplifies effort and excellence in academics, athletics, leadership, integrity, dedication to the team, campus involvement and community service.

A midfielder for the Tigers, Kamman has a 3.85 cumulative grade point average and earned Capital One First Team Academic All-America honors last fall. He helped DePauw to a 16-3-1 overall record this year and the North Coast Athletic Conference tournament championship.

Kamman was an honorable mention all-NCAC player this year after finishing with two goals and one assist. He was part of a DePauw team which set a school record for wins and made the program's ninth NCAA postseason appearance. The Tigers finished the regular season ranked 12th by and 17th in the National Soccer Coaches Association of America Division III poll.

A Chi Alpha Sigma National College Athlete Honor Society inductee, Kamman has been named to Dean's List all seven semesters and serves as a DePauw Presidential Ambassador. Kamman is an executive member of Mortar Board and a member of the Science Research Fellows Program.

Other finalists for the Eskew Award included Sean Haseley (basketball), Michael Rardon (tennis) and Steve Valdiserri (football).

Catie Baker of the women's swimming and diving team was named the Amy Hasbrook Award winner as the top senior female student-athlete. Complete information on that is available here.

The awards are named for former DePauw student-athletes Amy Hasbrook '00 and Phil Eskew Jr. '63. Hasbrook was a four-year letterwinner for the women's basketball team who lost her life in a fire in 2002. Eskew, the president of DePauw's "D" Association for over 20 years, was a 1994 inductee into the DePauw Athletic Hall of Fame and was instrumental in its formation in 1986.

Amy Hasbrook Award Winners   Phil Eskew Award Winners
2005 Amy Argetsinger, basketball   2005 JaMarcus Shephard, football/track and field
2006 Leslie Dillon, cross country/track and field   2006 P.J. Mitchell, baseball
2007 Liz Bondi, basketball/tennis   2007 Evan Webeler, tennis
  Sarah Gates, golf   2008 Rob Alexander, swimming and diving
2008 Katie Doogan, swimming and diving     Jeremiah Marks, football
2009 Amanda Stier, swimming and diving   2009 Michael McNelis, football
2010 Lauren Reich, cross country/track and field   2010 John Cook, Swimming and Diving
  Megan Soultz, softball     Spud Dick, football
2011 Courtney Lauer, track and field   2011 Jonathan Lambert, football
2012 Catie Baker, swimming and diving   2012 Kreigh Kamman, soccer