Catie Baker Earns NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

Catie Baker Earns NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

May 23, 2012

Greencastle, Ind.—  Catie Baker (Cedar Rapids, Iowa/Kennedy) of the women's swimming and diving team who graduated on Sunday, has been selected as an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship recipient. She is the 19th DePauw student-athlete to earn the distinction since 1968.

A two-time Capital One Academic All-America selection, Baker had a 3.99 grade point average through seven semester while majoring in both computer science and mathematics. She's been named to DePauw's Dean's List all seven semesters and has been awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship.

Baker has served as a mentor for both the DePauw.year1 and Women in Science programs and is a member of Chi Alpha Sigma National College Athlete Honor Society. She also served as president of the Delta Gamma sorority.

In the pool, Baker was a three-time NCAA Division III all-America honoree in the 100-yard breaststroke. She also earned honorable mention all-America three times in the 200 breast and once in the 200 individual medley. Baker was a three-time College Swim Coaches Association Scholar All-American and earned Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Swimmer of the Year honors in 2010 and 2011. The 2011 SCAC Swimmer of the Meet, Baker was a 10-time SCAC champion and set the conference's meet record in the 200 breast. Baker is DePauw's all-time career and single-season point leader and holds two individual school records and two as a member of relays.

DSC 0321The NCAA awards up to 174 postgraduate scholarships annually, 87 for men and 87 for women. The scholarships are awarded to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are at least in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition.

The one-time grants of $7,500 each are awarded for fall sports, winter sports and spring sports. Each sports season (fall, winter and spring), there are 29 scholarships available for men and 29 scholarships available for women. The scholarships are one-time, non-renewable grants.

To qualify for an NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship, a student-athlete must have an overall grade-point average of 3.200 (on a 4.000 scale) or its equivalent, and must have performed with distinction as a member of the varsity team in the sport in which the student-athlete was nominated. The student-athletes chosen have showed dedication and effort while performing both on and off the field at a high level that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics.  


DePauw's NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship Recipients
Year Student-Athlete Sport in which scholarship was awarded
1968 Bruce Montgomerie football
1969 Tom McCormick men's basketball
1970 Richard Tharp men's basketball
1972 Steve Overman men's basketball
1973 Gordon Pittenger men's basketball
1977 Mike Kinney men's track and field
1978 Mark Frazer football
1981 Jay True football
1985 Rich Bonaccorsi football
1986 Tony de Nicola football
1986 Phil Wendel men's basketball
1988 Nancy Gritter women's swimming and diving
1992 Tom Beaulieu football
1998 Charee Campbell women's swimming and diving
1999 Susan Bender women's basketball
2001 Adrienne Gough women's cross country/track & field
2003 Katie Reis women's swimming and diving
2010 Megan Soultz softball
2012 Catie Baker women's swimming and diving